Agency Reporter
Winners of this year’s Wole Soyinka Essay competition organised in commemoration of the Nobel laureate’s 86th birthday celebration have been announced.
A statement by the Wole Soyinka International Cultural Exchange 2020 (WSICE), organisers of the event, said the winners in the senior category (ages 17 to 22) are: Tyrone Nkululeko Takawira, from Zimbabwe (Global Prize winner and First Place, Anglophone winner – $1,000); Boluwaduro Abasiekem Adeyemi, a Nigerian based in Barbados (Runner-Up, Anglophone winner – $300) and Felista Biluge, DR Congo (First Place, Francophone winner – $500); Emmanuel Adjanor, Cote D’ivoire (Runner-Up, Francophone winner – $300); Yuying Zhu, China (First Place, Sinophone winner – $500); Jiayi Li, China (Runner-Up, Sinophone winner – $300) and Samson Ikechukwuka Arewah, Nigeria (First Place, Hispanophone winner – $500); Mayra Mileidy Pedraza-Fernandez, Colombia (Runner-Up, Hispanophone winner – $300) and Pedro Hermenegildo Goncalves Capita, Angola (First Place, Lusophone winner – $500).
Others are: Delcia Da Conceicao Verissimo Da Costa, Angola (Runner-Up, Lusophone winner – $300); Leta Daniel, Uganda (First Place Consolation Diaspora Prize winner – $200); Majeedat Abdulmajeed, Nigeria/Cuba (First Runner-Up, Consolation Diaspora Prize winner – $100) and Anushree Chaudhuri, U.S.A (Second Runner-Up, Consolation Prize winner – $100.
Read Also: Osofisan, Odia others celebrate Soyinka at 86
Also, essay winners in the Junior Category (ages 12 to 16) are: Thelma Iheanacho, Nigeria (Global Prize winner and First Place Francophone winner – $600); Toluwanimi Sonuga, Nigeria (Runner-Up, Francophone winner – $200); Emily Suh, U.S.A (First Place, Anglophone winner – $300); Joseph Divine, Nigeria (Runner-Up, Anglophone winner – $200) and Shaoyuan Li, China (First Place, Sinophone winner – $300).
Others are: Pamphile Sassi Aubert, Nigeria/China (Runner-Up, Sinophone winner – $200); Vera Honam Anthonio, Ghana (First Place, Consolation Diaspora Prize winner – $200) and Sampada Dahal, Nepal (Runner-Up, Consolation Diaspora Prize winner – $100).
The theme for this year’s edition is: I AM because YOU ARE.
Over 2,500 entries were received from 28 countries covering Anglophone, Francophone, Hispanophone, Lusophone and Sinophone.
The essays were adjudicated by qualified judges from around the world, including Dr. Razinat Mohammed of the University of Maiduguri, (Nigeria), Dr. Cristian Aquino-Sterling (U.S.A), Lucile Huguet (France) and Prof. Veronique Maisier (U.S.A).
Others are: Professor Robert Fox (U.S.A), Dr. Nadia Embleton (UK), Yayra Tamakloe (Ghana), Mr. Olivier Alfonsi (France), Prof. Lilly Cheng (U.S.A/China), Lily Birmingham (Taiwan), Rosa Ovshinsky (China), Keyna Eleison (Brazil) and Felix Ayoh Omidire (Nigeria).